Samsung Galaxy A3 - How to remove Picasa albums from phone Gallery

Android 4.4 (Kit Kat)
Phone: Samsung Galaxy A3
Factory OS: Android 4.4 (Kit Kat)

Have you updated your Operating System?
Then view tips for the most recent OS version(s): Android 9 (Pie) & Android 8 (Oreo)
Or view tips for all Android versions

How to remove Picasa albums from phone Gallery

Android cleverly uses Picasa to sync photos between your account and your phone. Sometimes however, this means that you will get duplicates appearing in your Gallery when they’re not actually on your phone.

To stop this from happening, and so you only see photos on the Phone or SD card, then follow these steps:

Drag down your notification menu from the top and click on the Gear icon to bring up your Settings. Then select Accounts and Google. Then select your Gmail account.

You should see a list of options that are ticked. Scroll down to the one that refers to Picasa and untick that.

Now that’s done we want to remove the thumbnails from your Gallery, so we need to refresh the Gallery. To do that, swipe down and go to Settings again. Then select More – Application Manager. Swipe across to show ALL Apps. Then find the Gallery App and press Clear Data.

This will erase the thumbnails in your Gallery, so don’t panic that your photos have disappeared. Just wait for the Gallery to re-build its index which could take awhile.

But the good news is that your Picasa Albums shouldn’t be there anymore.

 
Looking for more tips?
We have 145 tips for the Samsung Galaxy A3.

Discuss this tip:

3 responses to “How to remove Picasa albums from phone Gallery”

  1. Richard Pickering says:

    There is no gallery app for me to clear the data from

  2. Anita says:

    I have Samsung Galaxy A3 but when I go to Application Manager, then click Gallery, there is no CLEAR DATA just Storage, Data Usage, Permissions, Notifications, Set as default. Battery and Memory. How can I delete Picasa folder from Gallery ? Please help.

  3. Nikki Whitear says:

    Ok, have followed your instructions, but contrary to what you say, when I press clear data in gallery, it tells me all my pictures will be PERMANENTLY deleted. Not wanting that to happen!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *